Zoey

Today we have a guest blog from another campaign volunteer, Zoey Wagner. -DJR

 

Saturday, I experienced politics at its finest.

First of all, I’m Zoey. I’m a 13-year-old girl who just happens to be hosting 20 or so Democrats in my house, where they make calls, hold meetings, and plan canvass outings. Not that I mind, of course. I love meeting them, hearing their background stories about why they support President Obama, and learning about their brushes with fame and adventure.

One guy I met has the son who made the famous Dwight bobblehead on NBC’s ‘The Office.” Another woman is on a first-name basis with Olympic athlete Misty May Trainer. These past few weeks are sure to be some of my most memorable, where I was lucky enough to experience a sliver of what it’s like to be on the road to what could be one the most significant races in history.

I tried my hand at phone banking (where I was cursed out more than once), went canvassing in downtown des moines, took field trips out to the early voting stations at Harding Hills strip mall, and even managed to meet a few celebrities along the way.

Although my work in the volunteering department is a walk in the park compared to what a good amount of the young adults do at the campaign headquarters everyday, I have to admit I had no idea how much effort goes into even a little volunteering. Maybe i’m just a wimp (I probably am), but when we go out canvassing, it isn’t just a stroll up and down the street. Nope, we walk. Like, a lot. And they don’t care if you decided to wear ridiculously uncomfortable shoes or that your hair frizzes up in this humidity, you will be finishing the entire darn packet whether you like it or not.

Saturday was one of this full-out Obama days. I had been looking forward to volunteering all week, and this definitely was no let down. My morning started out by me waking up to the lively chatter of Dave, James and Bob, and I made my way downstairs, grumbling something about how no human should be at my house this time in the morning. But before I could wipe the sleep out of my eyes, people started pouring through the door and I was, yes, put to work.

Not that I could complain- I honestly don’t think a person could have as much fun yelling on the curb of Hy-Vee as I could. Dave gave Ashlin, my step sister, and I a ride to the Harding Hills Hy-Vee where we joined two other kids and another volunteer, Lindsey, to hold up giant VOTE letters and “Honk for Obama” signs, encouraging drivers to vote. Later that day, after a quick lunch break and eating an entire box of Oreos, Ashlin, Dave, Ruth and I headed out further into Beaverdale to get the day’s canvassing done.

Some were very sweet and polite to me – I think my age has something to do with it – some people? Not so much. “I wouldn’t vote for Obama if he was the last person on earth,” one man said in between curse words. This was my first negative response, I have to admit, so I didn’t really know what to do besides nod my head, bite my tongue and shuffle away.

The rest of the day ended up good, though. Great, actually. Dave later met up with us, not too long after the great anti-Obama debacle, and after reminding me to button up my coat he informed me that someone would later be picking Ashlin and I up to take us to a LGBT For Obama event – one where we would be meeting the stars of my favorite tv show,  Glee.

I knew that the event was going on, but I thought my chances of actually getting to go were slim to none. But leave it up to the volunteers of this campaign to find a way – these really are some of the nicest people.

Needless to say, the entire event was a fairy tale. It took place in one of those fancy law firms downtown, and everyone was so nice, not to mention I was the first one to meet Jenna Ushkowitz and Kevin Mchale. And I can definitely tell you that as soon as I got to the house I told all of the volunteers every last detail of the big meeting.

I have to say my only regret about volunteering for the Obama campaign is not volunteering sooner. I’ve had a ball getting to take part in what could be a historical election, and meeting all these wonderful people, and I’m definitely thankful that Ruth suggested that I come canvassing that one Saturday morning two weeks ago.

Leave a comment