A Fierce First Day On The Trail

image

Check out this painting on the wall of Bernie’s HQ. Frightening or awesome? I say a little of both.

I hit 45 doors today on Bernie’s behalf. The high was about 22 degrees. Tomorrow it’s supposed to get up to 12, and Sunday’s forecast is for a high of negative 2! I kept warm by imagining all the Hillary supporters shivering in their headquarters, too cold to venture out into the streets. Come on people, elections are won one door at a time.

image

People I talked to were receptive and friendly. Anecdotally it doesn’t seem like we are anywhere near the level of saturation I observed in the run up to the 2012 general election.

Guess whose Beaverdale door I knocked on? Kathy Obradavich, famed and feared chief political correspondent for the Des Moines Register. I fawned over her just like the huge fanboy I am and she was even gracious enough to take a selfie with me.

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment